Add an Etsy Shop Link on Facebook

I have to admit, even though I’m marginally “up” on technology and computer use, in many areas I’m behind the times. One of these areas is Facebook. I realized this today while trying to work on a Page for my Etsy Shop. One of the problems I ran into was the little buttons/tabs/squares near the top that apparently you can add apps to, and make your page all cool.

The defaults are Photos and Likes, but I also wanted some way to have a link to my shop there. I checked out a few other apps, like Etsy Showcase and Etsy Theme Shop, but they created a whole new page (on the facebook page) with my shop contents squished into a new format. It was weird, and I didn’t like it. I just wanted the simplicity of having them go to my site on Etsy, where it already is.

Ehh. This isn’t really what I was looking for…

So, I found a simple Static HTML tab app. It gives you the option of making your own cool html page, which I may want down the road, but it also had a simple, glorious option: redirect to URL. Thus, when someone clicks on my “Shop” tab, it opens right to my shop page on Etsy. Brilliant!

Just in case anyone else was looking for something more simple, I thought I’d make a little walk-through:

First, click here and install the app. It will take you to Facebook (Log in if you need to). Then you’ll need to authorize:

Next, if you are logged in to your personal account, go to the next step. If you have been logged in to your “page” account, then: Wait, it wants me to log in to my regular profile? No, I want this to go on my page!! That’s what I thought, too, but you actually just sign in to your “real self” to authorize, and then it will let you put the app on your page. It’s all good. :)

After you are all set, you will pick what page you want this app to go on. Then, you will come to the admin/settings section: a list of options for what you want this tab to do:

You can change your tab image now, or come back to it later. Then, move down to the larger html section. Instead of an html page, we want to choose “redirect.” Add your url, make sure the name of the tab is what you want, and save!

Now we’re all good to go! See it in action on my facebook page, and give it a try!

15 comments

  1. Mia

    hi, I hope somebody can help me. I have done this but noticed I have put the different link. How can I change the link, please? I can’t find how to manage this app :( many thanks

  2. kelly

    Hi …I am seriously tech challenged and am trying to use social media to bring more traffic to my etsy site.
    I cannot figure this thing out . help!
    I clicked on the link to install app and it took me to this page http://woobox.com/statichtml
    I clicked on “get started for free” and it asked me to manage my facebook page with woobox and i clicked on skip but it wouldnt let me so i clicked on ok. Now I just see this page https://woobox.com/manage/businesses/apps#_=_
    this is not at all what your instructions show!
    Please help??!!

    • saecarr

      I think what went wrong is that you hit “skip.” You need to log in to facebook using the app. The woobox page has changed since I wrote my post, so I’ll have to check it out and see if I need to link to a different page. Let me know if you get it working!

    • Wavy

      The process is slightly different form the above listing. Follow the Woobox link and login to Facebook as your personal page. It will say ‘skip’ or something like ‘allow woobox to manage….” you have to click this, then it will take you to the woobox page with a gray bar across the top a bit like facebook bar with your page etc on it. Approx half way down on left hand column, you’ll see ‘HTML Fangates’ link. Click on this and you will see the page as shown above where you can put in your Etsy or other link. Save changes then when you return to original page, the HTML Fangates link in left hand column will have a small number 1 next to it. Click on this link, then you will see your new link in the main screen. Click on this and a series of tab editing links will appear in the left hand column. Here you can add your own image etc. Make sure you save changes and log out of woobox when you’re done. It took me a while to figure it all out, but got there in the end!

    • Anna

      This is a bit of a late response, but I just wanted to throw out there that I did get this method to work, despite the changes. It’s a little overwhelming at first (I, too, am less than tech-savvy!), but it’s totally doable. Once you login to woobox and get things connected to your facebook, look at the very top of the screen. You should see a black rectangle with several tabs. Click on “static html.” From here, the instructions from saecarr match up, more or less. I think it’s mostly just some visual changes. Good luck! And thanks, saecarr!

  3. Randi

    Ok I’m loving the help. Lord knows I need it! I have another question maybe you can answer… up earlier in your directions you have a click here that is highlighted and takes your reader elsewhere, wherever you have directed them. You also have on for the Static HTML app as well. How is that done?? It is driving me crazy. I would like to use that to redirect people from my FB page to my shop. As in- nowavailable in my Etsy shop The Crazy Goose. They would click on the highlighted Crazy Gooeand that would take them to Etsy. Is that even possible??

      • Randi

        Sorry. It’s confusing because I don’t actually know what it is I am asking! LOL!(and because my typing skills are lacking),I’ll try again.

        In the first paragraph you write about how you were working on a…”Page for my Etsy Shop”, highlighted in blue and underlined. When I click it, I am taken to your Etsy Shop. I would like to learn how to do that, or if it is even possible to do on FB.(that and the correct term for it!)
        Thanks again!

      • saecarr

        Randi,

        Oh, okay! That is using html code. You can learn how here: http://www.echoecho.com/htmllinks01.htm As far as creating links on facebook in a status, you can paste a link in, and facebook will automatically grab the link and a thumbnail image, or you can link to another facebook page by using “@” and then their name.

        Does that help? :)

Hit me up!

